My wifes car was leaking gas. I took it to this shop and they informed it would be a one hour diagnostic charge. They called me later in the day and said something on top of the tank was leaking, and it would be 4.5 hours or more to fix plus parts. I informed the shop manager that there were access panels under the seat, at which point he acted like he was just about to bring that up, and the hours then dropped to 1.2. I agreed to the work, under the circumstance I would get a copy of the part receipt and the old part. When I arrived to pick up the car, they refused to provide the "old" part, and any evidence of a new part purchase. Then owner then informed me that he always overcharges for parts, and that everyone does it. When I got home I discovered the tank was still leaking and what appears to be the old part still installed (I looked under the seat). They charged me 450 for a part btw that costs less than 55 dollars.
Claude, I'm sorry for your misunderstanding on this matter. I would like to clarify the situation now, if I may. Per your points, we originally believed that we needed to drop the fuel tank to assess the fuel leak on top of the tank. We then found the workaround that saved us having to drop the tank, and we discussed this with you when you came in. You were charged the 1.2 hours only, per the industry standard for this repair, where it actually took the mechanic over 2 hours to replace the part, as both fuel modules had to be removed to complete the installation. You were also given a discount on the inspection charge. The replacement part was purchased from one of our reputable suppliers, and it cost us many multiples of the 55 dollars that you state above. That said, parts costs are marked up on all parts purchased in this, or any retail business, and parts costs are never shared with the customer, ever. It is also irregular to provide customers with the failed parts out of their car, but if you would like, you may stop by the shop next week and it will be provided to you. In summary: a verbal estimate of the repair was given, you approved the work and the price, the work was completed two days before the due date. If the work did not fix the problem then bring it back and it will be made right under our 3 year warranty at no cost to you. I hope this clarifies the situation for you, and apologize for any misunderstanding you might have had regarding our service. Best Regards John
- Honest-1 Auto Care San Carlos